Frequently asked questions

How can I keep up to date with the latest THE Awards MENA news?

Please join our mailing list to receive all the latest news about THE Awards MENA, including key dates and information about the awards ceremony itself.

Who can enter?

The awards are open to anyone involved in higher education in the following countries or territories:

Algeria, Bahrain, Djibouti, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Oman, Palestinian territories, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, Yemen.

Entries can be completed by those working at institutions, or consultants working on an institution’s instruction. If you are entering on behalf of an institution, please ensure that you supply an institutional contact as well as your own.

How do I enter?

Please read our Entry guidelines , then go to the Categories page, and click the ‘Enter now’ button on the relevant category. Please note that all entries must be in English.

When can I enter?

The entry window opens on 16 March 2023 and closes on 15 May 2023. There will be no extensions, so please ensure you submit everything by 15 May.

How much does it cost to enter the awards?

There is no charge to enter.

What period do these awards relate to?

These awards focus primarily on activity during the 2022 calendar year. Judges will pay special attention to initiatives completed during 2022, but submissions may be based on those that commenced prior to this period, where proof of impact during 2022 can be included. You may also include any evidence of impact or success that has come to light in the early months of 2023.

Can we enter more than one category?

Yes, you may enter as many categories as you wish, but you must complete a different submission for each category.

Can we enter the same submission in more than one category?

No, please choose the most appropriate category for each entry. If you are unsure which category to choose, please contact to discuss your options.

Can an institution enter more than one project or team in a single category?

Yes, if the entries are distinctive and completely unrelated, you may submit up to five per category. Otherwise, we advise you to combine the best elements of each to form a stronger single entry.

Please note that some categories recognise work at an institutional rather than departmental level. This is noted in the criteria of the relevant categories. Entries for these should include multiple elements in a single entry, covering different facets of the overall strategy.

How will I know that my entry has been safely received?

Once you have submitted your entry you will receive an email confirming your institution name, the nominee and the category you have entered. A copy of your submission will also be attached. The email will also contain a unique Nomination code that we will use in future awards correspondence relating to your entry, so please keep this number safe and accessible. If you do not receive your confirmation email, please write to .

Are collaborative entries accepted?


Institutions working together

If your entry relates to an initiative or project carried out in collaboration with another institution or institutions, the submission should come from the lead institution. In such cases, please enter “ <Name of lead institution> in collaboration with <name of secondary institution> ” or, in cases where the institutions are working together under project title, “ <Name of lead institution> on behalf of <name of project> ”, in the ‘Institution name’ field on the entry form. If there is no lead institution, to avoid multiple entries for the same project, please agree who will make the submission on behalf of the group.

Institutions working with public or private partners

You may enter a project that has been undertaken in collaboration with an external public or private partner. In such cases, please include “ <Name of institution> in collaboration with <name of partner> ” in the ‘Institution name’ field on the entry form. Please note that the award will be given to the winning higher education institution.

When will I find out if we have been shortlisted?

We will notify shortlisted institutions by email on the same day as the shortlists are officially published, 2 August 2023 .

If we are not shortlisted, can we get feedback on our entry?

Unfortunately, due to the high volume of entries, we are not able to give feedback on individual entries.

When are the winners announced?

The THE Awards MENA ceremony will be held on 13 November 2023 as part of the THE MENA Universities Summit taking place in Abu Dhabi on 13–14 November 2023.

Join our mailing list and be the first to hear about the latest event news and updates. You can unsubscribe at any time.